When Kendall EditI applied to be a Career Development Intern at the end of sophomore year, my job search was a very distant thought. Through a connection I made in badminton class (yes, that’s right) I learned about the internship and decided to apply with hopes of learning the basics of resume writing and job search strategies. At the time I had no understanding of either the internship’s scope or the impact it would have on my college experience.

First off, Clark Howell Hall has become my positive, homey little bubble in the middle of campus. I love the “hustle and bustle” of the Career Center the and the staff that makes it go. The few months leading up to the impending doom of graduation can be pretty nerve-racking, and I’m incredibly thankful that I’ve had the support of my fellow CDI’s and our awesome supervisor along the way.

Secondly, I’ve learned more about communicating with others than I ever would have by just attending class. I’ve conducted mock interviews and learned how present constructive criticism. I’ve even been pushed past my fear of public speaking and have presented on resumes to crowded rooms!

Last but not least, the Career Development Internship has taught me the importance of professionalism, an attitude that I know will serve me well in the future. It did so by teaching me how to approach the pace and routine of an office environment, and how to work with the varied personalities of staff, students and employers.

The Career Development Internship has given me the incredible opportunity to serve as a mentor to peers while growing my own professionalism. It’s been the highlight of my four years at UGA and I am excited to pass the torch to a new group of interns next year! I encourage you to apply for this incredible opportunity — you’ll be so glad you did!

Apply today! Access the application via DAWGLink, and be sure to email your completed application to cdi@uga.edu by the end of Tuesday, March 18.

