Tags

, , , , , , ,

We’re excited to have Ryan Carty on staff as Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication’s new career consultant. Ryan began working with the UGA Career Center in June 2013; he specifically works with students in the following majors: Advertising, Digital & Broadcast Journalism, Mass Media Arts, Public Relations, and all Journalism concentrations. Ryan is a product of Grady College and prior to joining the Career Center staff, he graduated from UGA with a Bachelor of Arts in Journalism – Telecommunication Arts. He then returned to UGA to pursue a Master of Education in Professional Counseling, becoming a proud “Double Dawg. I caught up with him to find out about how he got into the field of Career Services…

Q. How did you get into the field of Career Services?

After I graduated from college from UGA, I worked as a college advisor at a high school for two years, and I really enjoyed it. My role was to increase the number of low-income, first-generation college and underrepresented students who enter and complete higher education.  It was then that I discovered my passion for working with students and assisting them with their career development needs. I later returned to UGA to pursue my Master of Education in Professional Counseling degree to expand my counseling knowledge and skills.  Once I graduated with my masters, I was ready to return to the career counseling field, and I was fortunate to have the opportunity to work as a Career Consultant for the Career Center.

Q. What is the best part of your day as a Career Consultant?

I enjoy my student appointments most. This one-on-one setting allows me to use my counseling and coaching techniques to help students explore career options and establish measurable career-related goals. Also, as a graduate of the Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication, it is my pleasure to be able to use my background in journalism to assist current Grady students and alumni.

Q. What is your favorite thing to do around Athens?

I enjoy the time I spend with friends at local restaurants in downtown Athens. We have a live downtown scene here, and there’s always an event happening. Whether you like traditional soul food, sushi, Italian food, or enjoy a nice brunch, Athens has a place for you and your palate.

Q. If you could give all students one piece of career-related advice, what would it be?

Don’t stress yourself out trying to select the “perfect” major that you think will land you a job after college. While selecting a major is important, it isn’t the only factor considered in the job search process. Employers tend to value leadership and professionally relevant experience on your resume, so focus on researching employer needs and gaining transferable skills through club involvement, class projects, study abroad opportunities, and internships.

Femi Edit

Femi Brinson

