suzanneSuzanne joined the Career Center team last semester and is a career consultant for the Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. I caught up with her to find out a little more about how she got into the career services field…

Q. How did you get into the field of Career Services

A. I was first introduced to career counseling while pursuing my Master’s degree in School Counseling at Liberty University. My desire was to help either high school or college students explore majors and/or career paths which could be good fit for them. While I was learning about this through my school counseling degree, I discovered that career counseling was a better fit for me; and so, I implemented career counseling into everything that I did. I had amazing opportunities to do career counseling at my internship locations, which were in K-16 school settings; and this gave me a true appreciation for the concept of life long career development.

After graduation, I worked for about a year at a non-profit, Christian organization called Crossroads Career Network, where I constructed both high school and college career development programs. I also did one-on-one career counseling with high school and college students as well as adults in job transition. It was a wonderful experience; however, I decided to look into career counseling positions in university settings where I would be able to do more comprehensive career counseling with students on a daily basis. Now that I am here at UGA, working as a Career Consultant, I am amazed and humbled that I get to serve in the position that I had once only dreamed about.

Q. What is the best part of your day as a Career Consultant?

A. I’m not sure if I have a “best” part of my day, exactly. I am someone who likes so many things; so it’s not too hard to find many “bests.” I would say that some of my favorite things would be:

  • Meeting with students one-on-one and taking them through a step-by-step process towards their career and educational goals
  • Interpreting students’ career assessments and showing them how the consistencies among their results can help them when exploring various career fields
  • Creating things like handouts, PowerPoints, presentations, etc. I love to create things!!!
  • Spending time with other career consultants – sharing ideas and getting feedback
  • Helping students with their resumes at both satellite and walk in hours, weekly

Q. What is your favorite thing to do around Athens?

A. Since I am newer to the Athens area, I have not done very much quite yet; however, I am interested in possibly doing some pottery downtown, going to campus related musical, theatre, and athletic events, and trying out a lot of the amazing restaurants. 

Q. If you could give all students one piece of career-related advice, what would it be?

A. “Enjoy your whole journey, not just the start and finish lines.” So many of us try to get from one point to another with as much speed as possible, ignoring the journey in between. However, if we just live for the start and finish lines of life, we will miss the everyday journey where life truly happens. It’s in these in-between times when we grow and learn the most; so, it is very important that we focus and enjoy these in-between seasons as well. The more someone enjoys their everyday journey, the finish lines will be even more victorious when they are reached. “Keep focused on the finish line while enjoying the everyday journey of life.”

Q. What do the CDI’s have to say about Suzanne?

A. Even though Suzanne is relatively new to the Career Center, it seems like she’s been here for much longer! She is so personable and always pops her head into the CDI office to say hi. She has great experience in the career services field and has a wealth of knowledge to offer students. We are so happy to have her here!

Next time you are over at the Career Center, be sure to introduce yourself to Suzanne Voigt if you haven’t already!

Kendall

