Tags

, ,

megan

Megan Flora joined the Career Center staff as a Career Consultant last fall! She is the consultant for Economics and Finance majors. Danny and I caught up with Megan to find out a little more about how she got into the field of career services.

How did you get involved with Career Services?
I became involved in Career Services as part of my graduate program for College Student Development. During that time I held an assistantship in the Career Services office for the business school at Appalachian State University. I met with all business majors and helped with resume and cover letter writing, job and internship searching as well as a variety of other areas. That experience provided a great introduction to the functional area and confirmed that I wanted to pursue a position in Career Services after I graduated.

What has your experience been like as a Career Consultant?
My experience as a Career Consultant has been great so far. After being in grad school for the past 2 years, it has been nice to transition back into full-time work. This is the first time in my professional life that I am doing something that I truly enjoy, so that in itself has made it a rewarding experience. It has been challenging along the way, making a transition to a new state, a new school and a new campus, but I have already learned a lot and continue to do so.

What do you enjoy most about your job?
What I enjoy most about my job is having a variety of activities that make up my day (student appointments, class presentations, satellite hours, etc.). In addition, I love having that one-on-one time with students where I can learn about them and really feel like I am helping. I also enjoy working in a larger office where there is always someone to talk to and ask questions.

What is the best career advice you have ever gotten?
One of the best pieces of career advice that I have ever received is employer/employee fit is everything! The employer must like you and you must like the employer. The job interview process is a two-way street and it is your responsibility as the candidate to assess the employer, the work culture, your potential co-workers, etc. If you “get the feeling” that you would not be happy with a company, do not take the job. You get those “gut” feelings for a reason! It is very possible to find a job that you truly enjoy, but sometimes you do have to be patient in finding that.

Do you have any motto or quote that you live by?
1-Never say never and 2-there is only so much in your life that you can plan for! I used to try and plan out everything in my life, down to the details, and when things did not go according to “the plan,” I would freak out and be thrown off course.  I think after going through my job search and facing a good amount of rejection before finding a fit, I figured out that trying to plan out my life was actually causing more stress than it was worth.  You never really know what may happen in the future and while it is smart to think about your future to some extent, I realize now that it’s more important to stay open minded, keep your options open, and never say never.  Even if you think in this moment that you know exactly what you want to do or where you want to be, things can change and I think it’s important to keep that in mind.

What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?
As I am still relatively new to Athens, I am continuing to scope out everything that there is to do here. So far I have enjoyed trying new restaurants, visiting Sandy Creek Park and the botanical gardens, and walking around campus now that the weather is cooler! I hear the music scene is great, so I am looking forward to that as well.

Why do the CDI’s love Megan?
“Megan is always excited about coming into work and seeing students. She has a really great positive attitude and is really encouraging to students and the interns. She is supportive and always has her door open to the staff and students, and I really appreciate that. Megan is also a really great consultant! She critiqued my resume and she had some great insights and ideas I never about” – Danny KendallDanny Blog

