Tags

I have been, for the most part, a stressed-out basket case while figuring out my postgrad plans  (Exhibit A). The possibility of four years of hard work landing me in the exact employment position I was at before college has been disheartening. However, after months of waiting, I can finally say that I have survived the “Battle of the Blank Calendar” and have come out victorious. I’d like to share my story with you, in hopes of instilling hope in those seniors still unsure of what to do after May 11th.

Before leaving for Spring Break, I submitted applications to a number of companies in hopes of landing a summer internship at the very least. While in Florida last week, I found an internship posting on DawgLink while checking on other applications. The position I found- in the Corporate Marketing department of a large corporation- sparked my interest and I decided to submit an application.

While sitting on the beach the next day, I received an email offering me a phone interview for the position later that afternoon. I was pleasantly surprised and left the beach to prepare for the interview. After speaking with two recruiters, I was offered a second phone interview two days later.  I spent more time preparing for the interview and had a wonderful conversation with the hiring manager for the position. I got a call from the company recruiter on Monday morning- less than a week after applying- offering me the position.

I never in a million years would have expected to have two interviews over Spring Break; however, they were completely worth it as I have committed to the Corporate Marketing internship for this summer. While my timeline may be a bit shorter than some, I think it is safe to say that there are still employers looking to fill summer internships and full-time positions.

Whether you are a graduating senior or underclassman seeking a summer internship, don’t lose hope. Continue networking with family, friends and acquaintances… and when you find a job or internship that interests you, apply!  And don’t just take my word for it- this article on USA Today’s College page offers similar encouragement and advice.

