Tags

, , , ,

The Career Development Intern (CDI) program through The University of Georgia Career Center is designed to provide valuable paraprofessional experience while assisting the Career Center in meeting the needs of University of Georgia students, alumni, and employers.

My personal experience as a CDI has been phenomenal. Hands down this is one of the best jobs I have ever had. Not because it is a paid position on campus. Not because of the flexible work schedule of working 10 hours each week. Not even for the numerous employers I can easily network with during panel presentations and career-related events; but because of the wonderful staff, and the ability to build the path for my own career. It is important to learn how to sell yourself to the job market, so one day you can work for the company of your dreams. Through numerous resume critiques, mock interviews and assisting with different career-related events, though I am no expert, I have a lot more confidence in these areas. I love being a CDI, and I hope to leave a positive impact on the students and the Career Center while I am here!

So now that I have shared my personal testimony of this job, I am sure you want to hear more information on how to apply. The CDI application can be found directly on our website. The application requires a resume, cover letter, and the application itself, which includes one short answer to a creative question. When you have completed the application, attach the three required documents to an email and send it to cdi@uga.edu no later than 5 p.m. on Friday, March 16.

After the applications are reviewed, a group of finalists will be contacted during the week of March 26-30 to select a time to interview for the position. Interviews will take place on Wednesday, April 4 from 4-6 p.m. and Thursday, April 5, 2012 from 4-6 p.m.

If you have more questions or want more information about the internship, see our Facebook event and attend the CDI Information Session! It will take place on Wednesday, Feburary 29th from 6:15-7:15 p.m. in the Tate Dawg Pen. We will explain the internship in greater detail and outline the characteristics we are looking for in a potential candidate. Hope to see you there!

