Tags

Christa Porter is one graduate assistant you need to be sure to meet at the Career Center! She received a bachelor’s degree in social relations at Michigan State, and her master’s degree in higher education administration at the University of Maryland. Christa is currently working on her PhD in college student affairs here at the University of Georgia.

How did you get in Career Services?

I always knew I wanted to work with college students. When I started working on my PhD, I received the graduate assistant position here at the Career Center. Once here, I realized how much I enjoy helping students transition from college to full time jobs.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love when students email me or come in and tell me about getting an interview or a job offer that they have been working towards.

Do you have any helpful career advice?

Always remain authentic! Be yourself.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I have a 1.5 year old puppy named Reese that I love to play with! I also really enjoy reading.

What was your first part time job?

I worked with a few friends at a Subway in high school.

What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

I enjoy finding vegan places to eat in Athens. I really like going to The Grit for dessert.

What is something unique about you?

I have a fraternal twin sister named Crystal who lives in Greenville, South Carolina. College was the first time we ever lived apart from each other.

Why the CDIs love Christa?

Christa always has a smile on her face that brightens our day. She gives great career related advice, and always makes time to chat with us when she is in the office!

