Tags

If you are ever in need of a good laugh or a piece of candy, then stop by and meet one of our great graduate assistants, Leigh McNeal! Originally from Tallahassee Florida, Leigh has made her way up to Georgia, and is currently a graduate assistant here at the Career Center. She has found that her undergraduate degree in psychology from Florida State University has been extremely beneficial in helping UGA students at the Career Center.

How did you get into Career Services?

Originally I had wanted to use my psychology degree in the field of mental health counseling. When I was looking into graduate programs, I found that UGA had a community counseling program which has many different counseling options. Through this I found an interest in career counseling. After being accepted into the program, I interviewed with the Career Center and received a graduate assistant position.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I really enjoy all the student interaction. I love meeting all the diverse students here at UGA and seeing how excited they are about their future plans.

Do you have any helpful career advice?

Choose a major or career path that makes you happy, not what others expect you to do.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I love baking and trying new recipes. I also enjoy spending time with friends and being surrounded by people.

What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

I have really enjoyed eating at all the locally owned restaurants. The food is great!

What was your first part-time job?

I started out as a hostess at an Italian restaurant, but quickly became a server. I worked there for five years.

What is something unique about you?

This is pretty random, but my parents are both named Terry. It was always confusing when someone would call asking for Terry and I had to figure out who they wanted to talk to.

Why do the CDIs love Leigh?

“I have never left Leigh’s office without a smile on my face. Her positive attitude makes her someone you always want to be around. Despite her busy schedule, she always finds time to get to know all of the CDIs. She is a great resource for any career related advice.” – Corrie  

