Tags

Born and raised in Lawrenceville, GA, Elizabeth Pittard is definitely a girl worth meeting while here at UGA. She has lots of stories to share, along with a smile and a very welcoming attitude. She attended North Georgia College & State University and made her way to Athens when she received an Administrative Assistant position in the Office of Student Conduct. Her undergraduate degree in psychology has helped her learn about the human mind and apply theories to the development of the college student.

How did you get in Career Services?

            I was an administrative assistant here at The University of Georgia and I kept hearing people talk about the Career Center. I realized this job relates to student affairs and I became really interested in the department as well as a career in Student Affairs. I began networking and learning more about the graduate program, and then I was hired for the graduate assistant position.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

               I really enjoy helping students with mock interviews. Not only is it fun to be on the other side of an interview for a change; I believe practicing is very important. I rather have a student make a mistake with me than for them to make a mistake in a real interview.

Do you have any helpful career advice?

            Networking; be aware of who you meet and what they do. You never know what doors can open.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I love to go out to eat in different restaurants around Athens. One of my favorite restaurants is the Last Resort.

What was your first part-time job?

           My first part-time job was working for Polo outlet. A job in retail was not really for me and I only worked there for a few months.

What is something unique about you?

               I am currently in a unique situation as a full time graduate student, a graduate assistant at the Career Center and a newlywed. There is a lot on my plate to manage time for all these things, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Why do the CDIs love Elizabeth?

               Every time I see Elizabeth she always has a smile on her face and a great outfit to match. She is very interactive with the CDI’s and the faculty in the office. Getting to know her this semester has been great; she has a lot of insight about career development and offers realistic advice on how to succeed.


