Tags

A native Mississippian, Bethany represents the “Hospitality State” well with her positive energy and willingness to help others every day. Bethany made her way to Athens after completing her Master of Science in Counseling at Mississippi State in 2009. Bethany’s undergraduate degree in Chemistry Education has prepared her well to meet the needs of her students in the College of Education.

How did you get in Career Services?

I was very lucky to get a Graduate Assistantship in Mississippi State’s Career Services office. It was there that I had hands-on experience with students and was introduced to the inner workings of career development.

What do you enjoy most about your job?

I love connecting with students. When students leave my office, 90% of the time they have gained something and that is really rewarding. I especially love when they get the job or interview and let me know about it.

What is the best career advice you have been given?

I give this advice all the time because it was given to me: It’s not about the end goal but the next step. If you focus on just taking the next step and the next step and the next step, you will be led to your end goal. You have to take the next step before you can truly get where you’re going.  

What did you want to be when you grew up?

I actually really wanted to be a teacher and a vet. At the same time.

What is your favorite place in Athens and why?

I love Memorial Park and the IM fields. I love to take my dog on walks and he loves the dog park at Memorial and jumping in the lake at the IM fields.

What was your first part-time job?

I worked at a bank as a teller. I enjoyed working with people and the customers but didn’t like the content side of the job.

What is something unique about you?

I worked at Yellowstone National Park for a summer during undergrad and then took a semester off after graduation to work at a ski resort in Big Sky, Montana. 

Why do the CDIs love Bethany?

“Bethany has graciously served as my mentor for the past year and a half. She is constantly encouraging me in my personal career development and life in general. Her passion for helping others- students and staff- is truly admirable and inspires me constantly. I am truly blessed to know her and think every Education student should take the time to meet her at satellite hours, programs, or through an appointment.” -Ashley  

