Tags

Sarah McCollum has been a Graduate Assistant at the Career Center since January 2010. She is in her second year of Graduate School at the University of Georgia and is pursuing her Master in Student Affairs degree. Sarah graduated from Clemson University in May 2009 with a Bachelor of Arts in History and Secondary Education.

How did you get involved with Career Services?

When I arrived at UGA, I was paying for grad school out-of-pocket because I didn’t have an assistantship. While I was in the process of finding one I got a call from Scott Williams about coming in for an interview at the Career Center. I did the interview and was offered the job within the first thirty minutes! I’ve been learning so much since then and the more I learn about Career Services the more I wish I had used them in my undergrad. It’s all by happenstance that I’m here- but working at the Career Center is probably the best thing that has happened to me since being in Athens!

What has your experience been like as a Graduate Assistant?

My primary responsibility is to serve as the T.A. for our ECHD 3050 and ILAD 5000 courses. I do a lot of the nitty gritty work and also take-on the meetings with students for those classes. I also work as many events as I can- presentations, check-in for events, resume critiques, and mock interviews. I’m like the Career Center utility player and I just go where they need me to help-out!

What do you enjoy most about your job?

As cliché as it sounds, it’s about the people. I truly enjoy coming to the Career Center everyday. I’ve come into myself since I’ve been working here and I love to see people grow and develop during their college years!

What is the best career advice you have ever gotten?

Hands-down it is to have congruency between what you value and believe and what you are saying and doing. You have to agree with the values of your company or you’re going to be miserable.

What is your favorite thing to do in Athens?

I love playing outside. I also love the fact that when I’m in Athens I know I’m somewhere significant. There’s so much history here and I love walking up Milledge. I also love music and going to concerts.

Why do the CDI’s love Sarah?

“Sarah is such a source of positivity and light in the office. She is so enthusiastic about life and it is truly contagious! I think she gets everyone excited about Career Services and it shows. Her encouragement and uplifting attitude boosts the morale of the office. She also serves as a mentor to the CDI’s and participates in our weekly meetings! We are so thankful to have her working with us!”

