Tags

, ,

May 8, 2010. 6:30 pm. Sanford Stadium. What is so important about this date? Yup, you guessed it. It is about that time- time to graduate that is. I cannot believe that I have spent four years in Athens at UGA, and will never go to school here again. Lately, I have gotten really nostalgic with my friends talking about our freshmen year, our first football game, ringing the chapel bell for the first time, spending the night at the SLC, eating at the dining hall, walking around the arch, or reminiscing on the various events centered around “remember that one time.”

It is a weird feeling to be ending one part of your life. It is definitely bittersweet. On the other hand I am super excited to be starting another chapter of my life. In just 4 short months I will be packing my car and driving to Seattle to teach for a year. And what happens after that? To be honest I am not entirely sure. I have been thinking about going to medical school, physical therapy school, physician assistant school, or joining the Peace Corps. So it seems that my ideas are either to go back to school or take a little more time to figure out what I really want to do. The good thing is I have a year to figure things out. I decided that I did not want to go to Seattle with everything figured out. What if I absolutely fall in love with Seattle and do not want to leave, ever? What if an awesome opportunity comes my way, one that I would have never thought of? So for now I know that I will be moving to Seattle in August and over the summer I need to find roommates, housing, and cool things to do in Seattle!

So what should you take away from this blog? I definitely want to get the idea across that it is perfectly fine to not be sure what it is you want to do for the rest of your life. In fact I do not know that you can ever truly know the answer to that question. It is okay to take a year off and do something that you will never have the chance to do. Go to the opposite side of the country, meet new people, experience a different world, and then go back home feeling refreshed, changed, and having no regrets. You do not want to wake up every morning thinking “What if?” Be spontaneous, crazy, and live no holds bar, before you get old!

Thank you to all of you who have been reading our blogs over the year, hopefully you will continue to read them in the future when the new CDI’s continue the blog. Good luck with all you do and remember…

“In the end everything will be okay. If it’s not okay, it’s not the end.”

