We would like to introduce the newest mom on the Career Center Staff, Shaistha Begum.  With a Bachelors degree in Computer Science and a Masters in Counselor Education and an emphasis in Student Affairs, Shaistha has a unique combination of experiences and wisdom that she shares with her students.  As a Consultant, she meets with students from all of the Humanities, Foreign Language, SPIA, and pre-Law.

How did you get into Career Services?

I was always interested in student affairs.  I knew I wanted to be in education but not a teacher.  It was my Career Consultant at the University of Wyoming that inspired me to go into Career Services.

What’s your favorite place in Athens?

I love Last Resort because I love to eat good food.  Their pasta is especially good.  You could also find me in Barnes & Nobles because I really enjoy reading, also.

Tell us something unique about yourself.

I speak 5 languages: English, Hindi, Urdu, Tamil, and Telugu.

What is the best career advice you’ve been given?

During the job search and when you are working, it is all about networking, networking, networking.

What was your first part time job?

My first official part time job was working for Food Services at the University of Wyoming.

What did you want to be when you grew up?

Without a doubt, an oceanographer.  I grew up by the sea, and every Sunday, my family would spend the whole day on the beach.  I was able to experience many family friends’ boats and even a submarine!  I thought I knew that is what I was going to be.

Why do the CDIs love Shaistha?

“Former Wyoming Cowboy turned Georgia Bulldog, Shaistha is one of the Career Center’s most demanded Consultants, and rightly so.  Her schedule is always packed with students that recognize what a great resource she is.  We love Shaistha because she’s cool, calm, collected, and caring.”—Gordon

