Tags

, ,

Michelle Carter has been at the Career Center since August 2005.  Michelle earned her Bachelor of Science in Secondary Education with an emphasis in Biology and General Science from Mississippi State University. She also received her Master of Science in Counselor Education with an emphasis in College Student Development from Mississippi State University. At the UGA Career Center, she works with Accounting majors in the Terry College of Business and students in the college of Pharmacy.

How did you get into Career Services?

Career Services seemed like a natural fit for me. I have always had an interest in subjects related to career development—resume writing, interviewing, professional dress. In my previous positions, it seemed as if colleagues would gravitate toward me and ask me questions regarding professionalism, etiquette, professional dress and interviewing skills. I guess it was my destiny to work in Career Services.
Where is your favorite place to go in Athens and why?

My church! My faith in God, Jesus and Holy Spirit is the core of my being. My church is one of the places that I go to rejuvenate. I also love spending time with my friends- that helps to rejuvenate me as well.
What is something unique about you?

I have a twin brother named Michael. I miss him a great deal. He lives in Mississippi.

What is the best Career advice you’ve ever been given?

That is a hard one. I have been given so much advice. I don’t think I can just narrow it down to one-

1. Always maintain your integrity

2. Don’t gossip

3. Have fun at work

4. Always see the good in a situation

5. Be accepting of constructive criticism.
What was your first part-time job?

I was a babysitter when I was teenager.
What did you want to be when you grew up?

I want to be several things- Aerospace Engineer, Pathologist, Science Teacher

Why do the CDI’s love Michelle Carter?

The CDI’s love Michelle because she is such a sweet person and is someone whose advice we take to heart. Michelle is my personal mentor and I have found that I really do enjoy talking with her and I can talk to her about anything. She listens to what you have to say and she gives very sound advice! Once you get to know Michelle, you will find yourself laughing hysterically at something silly she said. There has yet to be a day that I have seen her where she does not make me smile and laugh! Michelle always dresses sharp! Not only can you get professional advice, you can get fashion tips from Michelle!”—Nichole

