Tags

, ,

Lisa Lowe has been a part of the UGA Career Center since 1999. Lisa works with the following majors: Anthropology, Criminal Justice, Geography, Psychology, Sociology, and Speech Communication. Lisa received her undergraduate degree in Psychology from Michigan State University and received a Master of Arts in Psychology from the University of West Georgia.

How did you get into Career Services?

After working in various positions related to federally-funded employment & training programs, I decided to figure out what other careers might be a better fit for me. I took several career assessments and met with a psychologist who specialized in career counseling.  After reviewing my assessments and talking with me, he said I might like career counseling and so I ended up volunteering in the Career Center at Georgia Southern University to see if I liked it and it turned out that I loved it.

Where is your favorite place to go in Athens and why?

My favorite place to go in Athens depends upon the time of year and my mood but usually it’s somewhere where I can either a) observe animals outdoors in nature or b) interact with animals such as my pet cats or other people’s pets.

What is something unique about you?

I went to Michigan State at the same time as Magic Johnson and I married a guy who went to UNC-Chapel Hill at the same time as Michael Jordan.

What is the best career advice you’ve ever been given?

Find a way to get experience doing what you think you might want to do (even if it’s just volunteer experience) and don’t be afraid to talk to people who are doing the types of things that interest you.

What was your first part-time job?

My first part-time job after becoming old enough to get a work permit was a childcare worker position at a daycare center.

What did you want to be when you “grew up?”

I wanted to be a teacher, librarian, and someone who helped animals.

Why do the CDIs love Lisa?

“The CDI’s love Lisa because of her enthusiasm and love for her job. Lisa is always looking for ways to reach freshmen and students in her major, oftentimes seeking the help of CDI’s for ideas on how to do so. Lisa has served a wonderful source of support and encouragement for the CDI’s. Her fountain of knowledge and love for helping every student who walks into the Career Center makes Lisa an excellent asset to the Career Center team.” –Bryan

