Tags

,

Christie Sanders has been a part of the UGA Career Center since 1999. It was her 12th year exactly this past Wednesday, April 1st. When Christie was hired, she figured it must be a joke since the date was April Fools Day! She works with students in the College of Family and Consumer Sciences and the School of Social Work, although she has pretty much worked with all majors during her 12 years at the Career Center. Christie received her Bachelor of Science Degree in Human Development and Family Studies with a concentration in Child and Adolescent Development within the Family at UNC Greensboro. She received her Master of Arts Degree in College Student Development at Appalachian State.

How did you get into Career Services?

As an undergraduate I was pretty much clueless as to what I wanted to do. I changed my major about five times before deciding on Human Development and Family Studies with a concentration in Child and Adolescent Development within the Family. The only thing that I did know was that I wanted to work with children; one day I literally went to class and I thought about how much I liked the college environment, so I pretty much decided to see what types of jobs or work I could do in a college. I then made an appointment to go to the Career Center, but on the day of the appointment I arrived at the Career Center and was intimidated so I left. Afterwards I knew that I began to use the bulletin to look for programs that I might be interested in. I saw that there was a VP of Student Affairs and I decided to make an appointment. I talked to her and she showed me a list of programs and on that list was Career Services. I remembered being afraid of the Career Center, but I was still intrigued. I set up a meeting with the director of Career Services, who actually looked like Steve Martin, and explained to him that I was interested in career services. I was chosen for the Peer Professional program, which is like the CDI program, and I really enjoyed working the Career Fairs, completing resume critiques, conducting satellite hours, and working with my Career Counselor, Robin. Robin actually went to Appalachian State and spoke really highly of the program. I ended up applying for the program, it was the only one I applied for, and when I got in I knew it was where I wanted to be.

What is your favorite place in Athens?

Movie Theater! My husband and I watch movies all the time. You can find us at Beachwood on any given weekend. My all time favorite movies are Back to the Future, Frequency, and 13 Going on 30.

What is something unique about you?

I love the Carolina Tar Heels!!! I was born and bred a Tar Heel Fan! I still support them even after their move from the NCAA to the NIT. Also I grew up in the Outer Banks up in the Avalon Pier.

What is the best career advice you’ve been given?

One time while I was at work at the Career Center one of the Career Consultants was having a bad week and her mother sent her a pillow that said “Do the Next Thing.” I love the saying so much. When things get really crazy, you just have to do the next thing. When it comes to career-related things, we sometimes make it harder than it needs to be and sometimes the simplest thing can be the biggest clue. With the economy these days, a job that you may want to do in twenty years may no longer be available, and new jobs come every generation, so it can be almost impossible to know exactly what you are doing in twenty years. Just take it one day at a time, and everything will work out.

What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

When I grew up I wanted to be the casting director for the ABC Television Network. I loved John Stamos on General Hospital and wanted to be the casting director who casted people like him on different soap operas.

Why do the CDIs love Christie?

“Christie always has a smile on her face and will always make you smile. Last year during March Madness, Christie wore Carolina blue everyday, which put a smile on my face. She was so creative with her outfits, and I even remember that she had blue nail polish-talk about a true Tar Heel fan! Christie is always making jokes. During my interview with her, she was telling me about how she met her husband in high school, how sweet, and how they have been together for twenty years. She then told me that they have no kids, which she calls her “Population Control Plan!” which I thought was hilarious. She also mentioned that her and her husband should get a tax break for no kids. I could not stop laughing!! She really does put a smile on your face and will brighten up your day!”-Nichole

