Tags

,

A thank-you note can be one of your most powerful weapons when it comes to the job search. This may seem illogical – in fact, you may be thinking “Of course, my resume is more impressive than a thank you note.  Or my cover letter. Definitely my interview is more important than a thank-you note.” While all of these are crucial to a successful job search, a thank-you note can set you apart for several reasons.

(1)    Not everyone remembers to send a note. Several job-hunting website insist that only 5% of people send a thank-you note after an interview and that by sending a note, you are automatically in the top 10% of applicants.

(2)    You get one more chance to make a good impression. First off, you’re already showing gratitude. I like to add my personality into the thank-you note. I like employers/interviewers to understand that I’m a compassionate person with a good sense of humor, so I make sure to be especially thankful and I’ll throw in something humorous that may reference my interview.

(3)    Sending a thank-you note demonstrates that you are good with people. You employ the most basic of people skills — a show of gratitude.

(4)    It reiterates your interest in the position. Those who send a thank-you note are obviously passionate and serious about the position. It shows that you went out of your way to show interest.

(5)    If they decide not to consider you for the position, they may know of another opportunity that suits you. You can mention this in the thank-you note, asking them to keep you in mind.

Make sure that if there were multiple interviewers that you send them each individual thank-you notes. You should send everyone involved in the process a note: interviewer, a contact w/ the same position you’re applying for, hiring manager, etc.

Last semester when I applied to be an Orientation Leader, I made it to the second round interview where I was interviewed by the three Directors of Orientation. After the interview I sent them all individualized thank-you e-mails. I referenced specific interview questions or topics of conversation in each one so that they would remember my interview since it was one of the first ones. The next day, I went downtown to eat lunch and I ended up running into them at Doc Chey’s. I went over to chat with them, and they thanked me for sending the note, talking about how much they appreciated the personalized e-mails. Later on, I found out that someone else had sent hand-written notes, but that other than that, not many people had sent thank-you notes. I honestly believe that it was one of the contributing factors as to why I got the position.

Be sure to check out this site so you know the advantages of handwritten thank-you notes and e-mailed notes and also how to format them.

