Tags

,

Tara Blythe has been with the UGA Career Center for about a year and a half and currently works with the College of Education. She is looking forward to welcoming her newborn son, Knox, in late April and upon returning from her maternity leave, Tara will be transitioning into the Terry Team and will then be working with Marketing, MMR, Real Estate, and Risk Management & Insurance students.  Tara completed her undergraduate education at the University of Florida with two Bachelor degrees in Psychology and Business Management. After undergrad, she went straight on to her Graduate program and  received her Masters in Educational Leadership with a focus in Counseling and Student Affaris also at the University of Florida. She is currently in the second year of her Doctorate program here at UGA in Human Resources and Organizational Development.

How did you get into Career Services?

During my graduate assistantship at UF, I worked in career services—specifically in career education—and taught a job search strategy class as well as conducted career advising. After graduate school, I was “lured to the dark side” as I like to say and I took a position working in HR for Target. From there I worked in 4 different industries over 7 years in various parts of Human Resources (recruitment, training/development, retention/engagement, and talent management.) While I was working as the Vice President of Talent Management for Bank Atlantic in South Florida, I moved to Athens with my husband – We had to get out of South Florida. Though we moved I kept my job in Florida for an additional year – commuting 3 weeks a month every Sunday night back to Florida.  After a year I decided the commute was too much for me – Plus I didn’t get to spend nearly enough time with my husband, whom I’d just married. I decided to go back to school here at UGA to get my doctorate, and took a part-time job teaching the Career Planning (ECHD) class and  assisting with the Personal Career Managment (ILAD5000) class here as a graduate assistant. Four months ago I became a full time Career Consultant for the College of Education in addition to teaching ECHD

What is your favorite place in Athens?

The 40 Watt. One of the main reasons I moved to Athens was because of it’s amazing music scene and, prior to being pregnant, you could find me there almost every weekend!

What is something unique about you?

I was born in Germany on a military base and grew up as a military brat. Also, I’m a huge Florida Gator fan that actually supports the Dawgs (if they’re not playing the Gators, of course)!

What is the best career advice you’ve been given?

Understand the importance of leveraging your contacts. Specifically for me, after my first job, each job that I got was offered to me within 10 minutes of meeting someone new!

What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

When I was 15, I really wanted to be a Dolphin Trainer at Sea World! I still think that would be a great fit- If I only was good at Science. =)

Why do the CDIs love Tara?

“It’s impossible not to love Tara- she’s extremely professional, knowledgeable, and so helpful and friendly. I’ve worked with Tara both as a CDI and as a student in her ILAD 5000 class and through my interactions with her, I have been truly impressed and inspired. The motivation and work ethic that she possesses–having a successful career, multiple degrees, a husband and baby on the way– has been inspiring to me as a woman and as someone about to graduate… Tara lets us know that we can have it all =) The Career Center is truly lucky to have her on our staff!” -Kristina

