Tags

, ,

Ellen Sears is new to the Career Center this year, but brings with her a wealth of knowledge! Ellen is part of the Terry team and works with Management, International Business, Management Information Systems, MIT, and Computer Science students.

How did you get involved in Career Services?

I started working in the Human Resources field and really enjoyed it.  I wanted to find a way to use my HR background in a more personalized way in order to help people.  When I saw the opportunity to work at the Career Center, I thought what better way can I do that than by helping others during their job search process?

What is your favorite place in Athens?

I haven’t lived in Athens for a year yet, so it’s hard to say.  Also, I can’t pick one restaurant because I love them all.  The food in Athens is great!

What is something unique about you?

I’ve been doing Taekwondo on and off for about 6 years.  I received my black belt when I was in college.

What’s the best career advice you have for students?

Stay positive.  Obviously, times are tough.  If you can remain positive through the entire job searching process, it will have a great impact on your mood and how you perform in interviews.  Recruiters and interviews like to see positivity.

What was your first part-time job?

One summer, I worked as a teacher for Mother’s Morning Out.  It was the hardest job of my life.  I had to look over a lot of little kids from 9:00 to 1:00 every day.

What is your dream job?

I would love to own a bakery.

Why do the CDIs love Ellen?

“Not only does Ellen kick butt with her black belt, she’s also awesome at consulting students!  She makes sure that the CDI’s get their daily intake of sweets and delicious baked goods.

Ellen is my personal mentor and is truly one of the nicest people I have ever met.  She makes you feel special, and I can tell that she is genuinely interested in helping students.  Ellen is such a great consultant because she knows her stuff, how to apply it, and how to help you be successful.” –Gordon

