Tags

, ,

Erica Walbert has been at the UGA Career Center since June 2008 and is part of the Terry Team. Erica works with Finance, Economics, and Music Business students and is also the Advisor of Alpha Kappa Psi, a business fraternity on campus. Erica earned her undergraduate degree in Human Development & Family Studies at Penn State, and later earned her graduate degree from Clemson in Student Affairs.

How did you get into Career Services?

I was very involved when I was an undergrad at Penn State. One of the organizations I worked with was the Women’s Leadership Initiative where I was an intern, and I was responsible for planning a lot of events, mostly related to professional development for women. When I was applying for grad school, I interviewed for an assistantship in Career Services because I’d really enjoyed the professional development part of my work at the Women’s Leadership Initiative. So, I worked in the Clemson Career Center where I planned all of the major Career Fairs and also did Career Counseling twice a week. After grad school, I focused my job search on career services or leadership education, and I ended up going into career services!

Where is your favorite place in Athens?

Well, every Wednesday I meet up with some of my friends at a… secret location. We just get to all chat and hang out. I think that it doesn’t matter the location, just who I’m with!

What is something unique about you?

I was born in the same hometown as Jonathan Taylor Thomas, and that was the only fan club I’ve ever been in.

What is the best career advice you’ve ever been given?

To be open and okay with not being sure exactly what you want to do. It’s okay!

What was your first part-time job?

I worked at a ritzy retirement home as a server when I was in High School, called Kirkland Village. Working there taught me that food-service is just not for me… when you get between people and their food, people get really angry! It did teach me a lot about time management and customer service though, and that even when you’re frustrated, you still have to smile because you’re a part of someone else’s day!

What did you want to be when you “grew up”?

I always wanted to be a teacher. My mom was a High School Spanish teacher, and I always “played school” with my friends when I was younger. Actually, later during my undergrad, I wanted to go into Marriage and Family Therapy, which is why I majored in Human Development & Family Studies at Penn State.

Why do the CDIs love Erica?

“Erica is so friendly and fun; she has taken a personal interest in all of our lives and is always very supportive. As my mentor, Erica has been a great go-to person for me to bounce ideas off of, get advice, or just to talk! She is definitely a huge asset to the Career Center and she brightens our days whenever we’re here!”–Kristina

