Tags

, ,

Laura Ledgerwood is the career consultant for students in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences, College of Environment and Design, Faculty of Engineering, and the Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources. She graduated from Clemson University with a Bachelor of Science in Marketing and got her Masters of Science in College Student Personnel at the University of Tennessee. Laura joined the UGA Career Center team in May 2009. Prior to coming to UGA, Laura was a Career Service Graduate Assistant at the University of Tennessee.

How did you get into career services?

As a graduate student at UT, I was interviewing for a number of graduate assistantships. My third interview was with Career Services and I just really connected with the staff. Once I started working there I began to enjoy the challenges of the job and the benefits of helping students pursue their career goals and grow into strong professionals.

Where is your favorite place to go in Athens?

That is tough! There are so many to choose from, it’s hard to pick just one. I love the shops downtown because they are all so unique. Currently, my new favorite place is Rubber Soul Yoga. Rubber Soul Yoga is a donation yoga studio in Athens and it’s just a really neat place. The staff is cool and relaxed and they don’t charge standard prices for classes, but suggest a $5 donation.

What is something unique about you?

I was born on Friday the 13th, but I’m still normal—kind of. Also, I was a Shinto Shrine Maiden in Japan.

What is the best career advice you’ve ever been given?

I’ve been given a lot of bad advice. But the best career advice I’ve ever been given was from the Director of Career Services at UT. He told me, “Companies don’t hire paper, they hire people.” Some people worry too much about the content of their resume, GPA, etc. But companies also want people who have strong interpersonal skills and are able to communicate clearly with others. Employers often look at these skills more than the candidate’s resume.

What was your first part-time job?

I was a hostess at Rizzuto’s Italiano Ristarante when I was 15. They were training me to be a waitress when the restaurant went out of business. So I was laid off from my first job at age 15.

What did you want to be when you “grew up?”

I wanted to be an actress. When I was younger I loved drama and I was enamored by the people I saw on TV. I thought it would be fun to be able to act like various different people. I also thought that actresses had such glamorous lives and had more fun than “regular people.”

What do the CDIs love about Laura?

“Laura truly cares about the students that she meets with and is always looking for ways to increase Career Center outreach to South Campus. She is a wonderful person to bounce ideas off of and always gives honest and helpful feedback. Laura has a great sense of humor and the CDIs always enjoy cutting up with her. Personally, Laura has been a great mentor to me, helping me through my own job search process and serving as a resource for any questions I have—career related or not. Laura is an excellent asset to the UGA Career Center and all you South Campus students need to come see her!”–Bryan

